Abbott Elementary And The Bear Top 2023 Spirit Award TV Nominations

Dec 19, 2022

The movie honorees received their flowers last month and this morning, Film Independent revealed the highly anticipated television nominees for the 2023 Film Independent Spirit Awards. Four programs took three nominations each: “Abbott Elementary,” “The Bear,” “Severance” and “Station Eleven.” In the Best Scripted Series category, the latter three were joined by “The Porter” and “Pachinko” as “Abbott” did not make the cut.
READ MORE: “Everything Everywhere All At Once” tops 2023 Spirit Awards Film Nominations
“Pachinko” was also rewarded with the Best Ensemble Cast in a New Scripted Series award for stars Soji Arai, Jin Ha, Inji Jeong, Minha Kim, Kaho Minami, Lee Minho, Steve Sanghyun Noh, Anna Sawai, Jimmi Simpson, and Yuh-jung Youn.
The Best New Non-Scripted or Documentary Series nominees include “Children of the Underground,” “Mind Over Murder,” “Pepsi, Where’s my Jet?,” “The Rehearsal” and “We Need to Talk About Cosby.” “Cosby” took the equivalent honor at the Gotham Awards a few weeks ago.
In a statement, Josh Welsh, longtime president of Film Independent noted, “As the television landscape continues to evolve, and independent artists expand the idea of how stories can be told, we’re proud to be changing with them. With our new categories and gender-neutral acting awards, we hope to better reflect the diversity of incredible work being created by these talented artists.”
Like the Gotham Awards and a number of critics group honors, Film Independent switched to gender-neutral acting awards this year. Additionally, a Best Supporting Performance in a New Scripted Series award is being handed out for the first time.  
The 38th Film Independent Spirit Awards will take place on Saturday, March 4, 2023. At this point, they will stream live online for the general public.
 The complete list of television nominees for the 2023 Film Independent Spirit Awards are as follows:
BEST NEW NON-SCRIPTED OR DOCUMENTARY SERIES (Award given to the Creator, Executive Producer, Co-Executive Producer) 
Children of the Underground 
Executive Producers: Dan Cogan, Liz Garbus, Jon Bardin, Ted Gesing, Gabriela Cowperthwaite, Kate Barry 
Co-Executive Producer: Julie Gaither 
Mind Over Murder 
Executive Producers: Marc Smerling, Nanfu Wang, Max Heckman, Chad Mumm, Mark W. Olsen, Nancy Abraham, Lisa Heller, Sara Rodriguez 
Pepsi, Where’s My Jet? 
Executive Producers: Nick Boak, Andrew Renzi, Andrew D. Corkin, Theo James, Andrew Fried, Jordan Wynn, Dane Lillegard, Sarina Roma 
Co-Executive Producer: Jeremiah Murphy 
The Rehearsal 
Creator/Executive Producer: Nathan Fielder 
Executive Producers: Dave Paige, Dan McManus, Christie Smith 
Co-Executive Producers: Carrie Kemper, Eric Notarnicola 
We Need to Talk About Cosby 
Executive Producers: W. Kamau Bell, Andrew Fried, Katie A. King, Vinnie Malhotra, Dane Lillegard, Sarina Roma, Jordan Wynn 
Co-Executive Producer: Geraldine L. Porras 
BEST NEW SCRIPTED SERIES (Award given to the Creator, Executive Producer, Co-Executive Producer) 
The Bear 
Creator/Executive Producer: Christopher Storer 
Executive Producers: Joanna Calo, Josh Senior, Hiro Murai, Nate Matteson 
Co-Executive Producer: Rene Gube 
Creator/Executive Producer: Soo Hugh 
Executive Producers: Michael Ellenberg, Lindsey Springer, Theresa Kang-Lowe, Richard Middleton, Justin Chon, Kogonada 
Co-Executive Producers: Dani Gorin, Sebastian Lee, David Kim, Ethan Kuperberg 
The Porter 
Creators/Executive Producers: Marsha Greene, Annmarie Morais, Arnold Pinnock 
Creator/Co-Executive Producer: Bruce Ramsay 
Creator: Aubrey Nealon 
Executive Producers: Ian Dimerman, Jennifer Kawaja, Charles Officer, R.T. Thorne, Aml Ameen, Bruno Dubé, Alfre Woodard, Rose Catherine Pinkney, Devin Griffin 
Co-Executive Producers: Elise Cousineau, Andrea Glinski, Steve Cochrane, Daphne Park 
Creator/Executive Producer: Dan Erickson 
Executive Producers: Ben Stiller, Nicholas Weinstock, Jackie Cohn, Mark Friedman, Andrew Colville, Chris Black, John Cameron 
Co-Executive Producers: Jill Footlick, Kari Drake 
Station Eleven 
Creator/Executive Producer: Patrick Somerville 
Executive Producers: Jessica Rhoades, Scott Steindorff, Dylan Russell, Scott Delman, Jeremy Podeswa, Hiro Murai, Nate Matteson 
Co-Executive Producers: David Nicksay, Nick Cuse 
Aml Ameen 
The Porter 
Mohammed Amer 
Quinta Brunson 
Abbott Elementary 
Bridget Everett 
Somebody Somewhere 
Rap Sh!t 
Melanie Lynskey 
Himesh Patel 
Station Eleven 
Sue Ann Pien 
As We See It 
Adam Scott 
Ben Whishaw 
This is Going to Hurt 
Danielle Deadwyler 
Station Eleven   
Ayo Edibiri 
The Bear 
Jeff Hiller 
Somebody Somewhere 
Gbemisola Ikumelo 
A League of Their Own 
Janelle James 
Abbott Elementary 
Ebon Moss-Bachrach 
The Bear 
Frankie Quiñones 
This Fool 
Sheryl Lee Ralph 
Abbott Elementary 
Molly Shannon 
I Love That For You 
Tramell Tillman 
Ensemble Cast: Soji Arai, Jin Ha, Inji Jeong, Minha Kim, Kaho Minami, Lee Minho, Steve Sanghyun Noh, Anna Sawai, Jimmi Simpson, Yuh-jung Youn  

Disclaimer: This story is auto-aggregated by a computer program and has not been created or edited by filmibee.
Publisher: Source link

Matthew Rhys Talks ‘Perry Mason’ Season 2 and Hopes for Season 3

In Season 2 of the HBO series Perry Mason, the height of the Great Depression sees the man himself (Matthew Rhys), along with assistant Della Street (Juliet Rylance) and ex-cop Paul Drake (Chris Chalk), on a new legal case, this…

Mar 30, 2023

Honor Among Thieves’ & D&D Jokes

When Dungeons & Dragons: Honor Among Thieves hits theaters on March 31, D&D fans and non-game players alike are in for a wild ride. On this action-packed adventure, Chris Pine’s Edgin the Bard is aided by a group of skilled…

Mar 30, 2023

‘Shazam! Fury of the Gods’ Screenwriters Answer All Your Questions

Editor's note: The following contains spoilers for Shazam! Fury of the Gods You’ve seen Shazam! Fury of the Gods with Zachary Levi returning as Billy Batson’s (Asher Angel) super alter-ego, you’ve seen the Shazamily face off with the Daughters of…

Mar 30, 2023

Honor Among Thieves’ Directors on D&D Lore & VFX Shots

Set in faraway fantasy lands based on the lore of the classic tabletop game, Dungeons & Dragons: Honor Among Thieves is one of this year’s most anticipated adventure features. Aside from the action-packed premise and the ensemble cast including Chris…

Mar 30, 2023